Looking for New Challenges and Doing What I Love

I’ve been very fortunate in my life and my creative career. Blessed actually. In 15 years, I’ve reached and achieved pretty much every goal I’ve wanted to achieve. I’ve experienced love and relationships, I’ve been paid as a professional artist and writer for multiple publishers, I’ve gotten to work for Marvel Comics, Dark Horse, Classics Illustrated and more. I’ve published novels in multiple genres, I’ve helped others.

I love what I do and I do it cuz I love it.

Yep. So, Now I’m looking for new challenges. I don’t know what they’ll be yet, but I know whatever it is will be something I love and enjoy.

There’s really no point in anything otherwise.

That’s the whole point of working in the creative fields, isn’t it? To meet new creative challenges and have fun doing it?

At least I think so.

I’ve never been happy or satisfied with any job I’ve done just for the money.

If you’re just in it for the money, you might as well be a doctor, or lawyer or real estate agent, right?

And right now, a lot of the mainstream end of the industry just has too much drama and socio-political tension going on. Fans don’t read the old standard characters, but if any writer makes anything new or makes significant changes with them, the fans rage. How un-fun must that be for the current writers? Knowing that you can’t write anything that has any lasting effect.

Not for me thanks.

My advice, honestly and from the heart, if you’re going to work in the creative fields, do it for love. DO what’s fun. If someone wants you to do a job that sucks all the fun out of it for money, run!

Leave a Reply

