What Inspires Me – Forever Yesterday

I’m a child of the 80’s, so it shouldn’t be any surprise that I will always have a soft spot in my heart for 80’s and 90’s comics. Yes, I know, 90’s comics especially were a mix of camp and flash, with maybe less than substantive stories wrapped in an embossed, holo-foil limited edition cover. At least that’s the perception in some circle.

But I don’t care what the opinion is in some circles. I love this stuff and it helped inspire the creative career I’ve enjoyed.

One of the series that inspires me as a kid, ignited my imagination and informed my creative mind was the original New Warriors series from 1990/91, written by Fabian Nicieza and others.

One of my favorite stories was “Forever Yesterday”, an arc that ran through New Warriors #11-13.

NewWar-011-00NewWar-011-01

Of course you can see some easy parallels between this story and the classic X-Men story, Days of Future Past. The key difference? In this story, the Nova villain the Sphinx has gone back in time and changed history, making Egypt the world power and America, one of it’s colonies. In this reality the Avengers existed as a tool for maintaining the power of the governing body, a near dictatorship led by the Sphinx. The Avengers being led by Captain Assyria!

NewWar-011-02

Yup, Nova was on the wrong side of the rebellion and the rest of the New Warriors were essentially homeless urchins. Quite a tricky situation when  it is in fact Nova himself who is the only one who knows that something is wrong with the world, being haunted by a mysterious cloaked spirit that gives him hints that his world is a lie.

NewWar-012-01NewWar-012-02I’ve always loved alternate reality takes on well known characters, and I love the take that Mark Bagley took on The Mutant Liberation Front, the heroes and freedom fighters of the story.

NewWar-013-01NewWar-013-02Just look at the cool redesigns of the MLF, comprised of literally every major Marvel character that wasn’t part of the alternate Avengers, including Nova, who saw the errors of his ways and switched sides to fight for the freedom of his fellow man. I won[t give away any more of the story, but I will say it’s a unique blend of alternate reality, time travel and supernatural. There are many layers to the story of the Sphinx, which makes this a multifaceted and FUN story.

My only question is why hasn’t this story been collected into a trade!

Leave a Reply

