Bittersweet farewell to another great bunch of students

Well another year has come and gone at Max the Mutt College of Animation, Art and Design, and with it I say goodbye and good luck to another group of talented young artists. This group of scalawags and ruffians to be more specific:

 

All joking aside, it’s always a privilege to see a group of young talent develop and grow as artists and as people. This group is no exception and I look forward to seeing the amazing work they will produce as they make the transition from students to colleagues.
There is an amazing crop of talent here; Solara has a wonderful modern manga style, Basilbub draws creatures and anthropomorphic animals like nobody’s business, Nyanami excels at watercolour, Angi Mauri is already a colleague in her own right, with her successful self-published manga series: Devil’s Cake, Keira Mawby can create anything from sequential art to surreal character design and illustration, and the rest were all too shy and humble to let me link to them here, but are equally talented.

As an instructor I can’t be sad to see them moving on because I know we’re not really saying goodbye. I know they all have promising and successful careers and I’ll be continuing to watch their work grow and progress for years to come. I know that my fellow faculty are some of the most talented and dedicated professionals in the creative arts industry and have helped this group build the skills and tools they need for success, and I hope that I may have contributed to this growth in some small way. Or at least not burnt out their neural paths with one of my tangential lectures on comics or self-publishing. 🙂

In any case, a great group of talent whose work you’ll soon find yourself enjoying on the comic book racks of your local hobby shop, or maybe at the next convention you attend.

Wishing you all the best of success in the future!

– Mike

Leave a Reply

